• 2019-20 Region 6 Board of Directors

  • Region 6 Executive Committee

  • Region 6 Past Presidents Celebrate Retiring Executive Bob Giannini

  • Walnut Creek School District Leaders at 2019 Region 6 Leadership Summit

  • Student Scholarships and Every Student Succeeding Winners

ACSA Region 6 represents School Administrators from Alameda and Contra Costa counties. ACSA serves educational leaders in the pursuit of equity and excellence to meet the diverse needs of all California students. Region 6 has local charters that meet regularly to support administrators in our region.

President’s Message

Dear Colleagues of Alameda and Contra Costa Counties:

LEAD WELL for Equity and Excellence! This was the theme of the 2019 ACSA Leadership Summit. Attendees from across all 19 ACSA regions heard from keynote speakers Roni Habib about the importance of creating and sustaining a safe and emotionally intelligent climate and Ruha Benjamin telling us that innovation and equity go hand in hand unless we are thoughtful about inclusivity in our design. Thanks to the many ACSA Region 6 members who attended this invaluable opportunity for networking and professional development. We also honored the recipients of the Every Student Succeeding Award for 2019. Our own Region 6 student recipient, Armando Wright from New Haven USD, was honored for his perseverance and diligence in completing high school and preparing for his future. 

My challenge to every charter and district this year is to find at least one student deserving of this award and complete the nomination form. We will recognize these amazing students at our Region 6 Awards Luncheon in April. It would be fantastic to have every charter recognize a student and those administrators, teachers and parents or guardians who support them.  Check with your charter president for details.

Remember that we are #celebratingboldandcourageousleadership in @acsaregion6 this year!  Be sure to participate and nominate a colleague as an Administrator of the Year. There are many categories, including, but not limited to job-alike awards. We also recognize colleagues for Valuing Diversity, as well as the Marcus Foster Award, and the Ferd Kiesel Award. More information is available on our website. Recognizing excellence is part of our mission and calling and one of the ways we build professional networks that honor our profession. November is typically a time that we are reminded to be thankful, and I would like to thank each of you for your daily work as a school administrator.

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember you have within you the strength, the patience and the passion to reach for the stars and to change the world.” Harriet Tubman

In partnership,

Pam VandeKamp, Ed.D.
ACSA Region 6 President
Director of Assessment and Accountability, Pleasanton USD

Advance Newsletter * November 2019

This month’s featured articles: President’s Message; ACSA 2020 Administrator of the Year Awards; ACSA Annual Leadership Summit in San Francisco; Save the Date for Region 6 Annual Conference on June 11, 2020; Mini-Grants;... READ MORE