ACSA Region 3 offers several recognition programs to honor both educational leaders and students. These include the annual Administrator of the Year Awards and Special Honors and the Every Student Succeeding Program (see below).

To learn more about the AOY program, download our AOY Program Overview LT (PDF).

Administrator of the Year and Special Honors

One of ACSA’s priorities is to ensure that school leaders are recognized for their excellence. Through our annual awards program we honor administrators and community members for their achievements and their dedication to public education.

Awards are given regionally and at a state level depending on the award category. The nomination process is an open process and usually involves the nominee as the primary source of information. The forms are available online, and can be completed and saved electronically. We urge you to participate by giving the materials some thought and taking action to nominate deserving colleagues.

The deadline for submitting nominations to Region 3 is Jan. 16, 2020. Contact Emilie Simmons at or 530/304-4419 for more information.

Visit state ACSA’s Awards Program page for complete information and a link to the online nomination platform. Here you will also find frequently asked questionstips for successful nominations, demo videos and other helpful resources.

The Administrator of the Year categories are as follows:

• Superintendent
• Secondary Principal
• Middle Grades Principal
• Elementary Principal
• Central Office Administrator (District/County)
• Elementary Co-Administrator
• Secondary Co-Administrator
• Classified Leader
• Confidential Employee
• Personnel/Human Resources Administrator
• Adult Education Administrator
• Career Technical Education Administrator
• Special Education Administrator
• Superintendent/Principal
• Business Services Administrator
• Pupil Personnel Administrator
• Curriculum and Instruction Administrator
• Continuation/Educational Options Administrator
• Professor of Education
• Retired Administrator (volunteer service to ACSA)
• Technology Administrator

There are also five special awards, three honored at a regional and state level, two at the state level only:

• Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award (state level)
• Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence (state level)
• Robert E. Kelly Award
• Partners in Educational Excellence Award – awarded to an organization or program, not an individual
• Valuing Diversity Award


Aspiring Administrator of the Year

Additionally, Region 3 offers an Aspiring Administrator of the Year Award.

Criteria: A nominee for Aspiring Administrator of the Year must meet the Aspiring Administrator Definition as an educator (i.e. teacher or counselor) who aspires to be a school administrator as demonstrated by:

-leadership at their school site.
-holds or is in pursuit of a preliminary administrative services credential.
-been an educator for more than three years.

The deadline for submitting nominations to Region 3 is January 16, 2020. Contact Emilie Simmons at or 530/304-4419 for more information.

Download the Region 3 Aspiring Administrator of the Year nomination form.


Every Student Succeeding

The mission of ACSA is to ensure that all students have the essential skills and knowledge needed to excel. On every school day throughout California, dedicated educators and courageous students overcome tremendous obstacles to reach that goal. Their success is our success; their powerful stories are our inspiration.

ACSA’s Every Student Succeeding program honors students who exceed our expectations and the educators who support them along the way. We are proud to highlight these young men and women who have overcome great obstacles to succeed. They face life’s challenges head on. Their stories are remarkable and their futures are bright.

The deadline for submitting ESS nominations to Region 3 is November 22, 2019. Send applications to Laura Butler at and Emilie Simmons at  Contact 530/304-4419 for more information.

ESS program description 19-20

Download the 2019-2020 Every Student Succeeding form

For more information, visit state ACSA’s ESS Program page.