Tulare County Office Of Education / ACSA Summer Institute

posted in: News | 0
Keynote Speaker Joel Zeff and Bob Mayo, Principal, Exeter Unified High School, during an improve exercise at the 2016 Tulare County Summer Institute.
Keynote Speaker Joel Zeff and Bob Mayo, Principal, Exeter Unified High School, during an improve exercise at the 2016 Tulare County Summer Institute.

The force was with the Association of California School Administrations (ACSA) and the Tulare County Office of Education (TCOE) as they presented the very successful 2016 Tulare County Summer Institute, Wednesday, June 15 at the SCE Energy Education Center in Tulare. With an all-time high of nearly 300 Tulare County school administrators in attendance, the group enjoyed an inspirational day which included Keynote Speaker Joel Zeff, informational breakout sessions, entertainment by the TCOE Theatre Company, and award presentations.

Zeff, workplace expert and author of “Make the Right Choice,” energized the group with a unique blend of hilarious improvisational comedy and essential ideas on work and life. With the help of audience “volunteers,” he delivered a combination of inspiration, essential knowledge and significant ideas to help the leaders reconnect with their own passion and success.

They do a great job in bringing everybody together and every
year they do a great job of bringing in a great speaker to entertain us.
– George Eddy, Director of CTE, Exeter Unified

Dick Schlagel, retiring after 29 years serving as ACSA Newsletter Editor, was recognized and honored. He and David Itzenhauser, long-time fellow educator and charter member of ACSA, presented the Itzenhauser/Schlagel Award to John Snavely, retiring Porterville Unified School District Superintendent, for lifetime achievement.

Gabriela Santillan, 2016 graduate of Mt. Whitney High School, was presented with the Every Student Succeeding Award. She will also be honored at the 2016 ACSA Leadership Summit in San Diego in November.

ACSA Tulare Charter Student Scholarship Awards were presented to:

  • Kelcey Carrasco, Tulare Western High School, Tulare
  • Sydney Garcia, Harmony Magnet Academy, Strathmore
  • Noah Kroutil, Porterville High School, Porterville
  • Breanne Perez, Redwood High School, Visalia
  • Haley Spencer, Tulare Union High School, Tulare
  • Bradley Taylor, Central Valley Christian High School, Visalia
  • Kameron Trevino, Redwood High School, Visalia

Carrasco, Garcia, Kroutil, Perez and Trevino also received a scholarship from ACSA Region XI.

ACSA Tulare Charter Administrator of the Year Awards were presented to:

  • Professor of Education: Miguel Guerrero, Ed. D., Professor of Education, Brandman University
  • Continuation/Ed. Options Admin.: Victoria Porter, Principal, VTEC High School, Visalia Unified School District
  • Curriculum & Instruction Admin.: Tanya Goosev, Asst. Superintendent Curriculum & Program Improvement, Cutler-Orosi Jt. Unified School District
  • Business Services Administrator: Nathan Hernandez, Chief Financial Officer, Business Services, Visalia Unified School District
  • Superintendent/Principal: Jeremy Powell, Ed. D., Superintendent/Principal, Sequoia Union School District
  • Special Ed. Administrator: Joyce Nunes, Asst. Superintendent Business/Psychological Services, Tulare City School District
  • Career Technical Ad. Administrator: Bill Edminster, Director, Tulare Adult School, Tulare Jt. Union High School District
  • Confidential Employee: Alice Galvan, Administrative Secretary, Administrative Services, Cutler-Orosi Jr. Unified School District
  • Secondary Co-Administrator: Joy Naylor, Assistant Principal, El Diamante High School, Visalia Unified School District
  • Central Office Administrator: Lisa Castillo, Director College and Career Readiness, Cutler-Orosi Jt. Unified School District
  • Elementary School Principal: Whitney Avila, Principal, Frank Kohn Elementary School, Tulare City School District
  • Middle School Principal: Angel Valdez, Principal, Pioneer Middle School, Porterville Unified School District
  • Secondary Principal: Rick Hamilton, Principal, Mt. Whitney High School, Visalia Unified School District
  • Superintendent: Tim Hire, Superintendent, Exeter Unified School District
  • Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence: Frank Chavez, Retired Superintendent/Principal Richgrove School District

Guerrero, Hernandez, Edminster, Naylor, Castillo, Valdez, Hire and Chavez were also honored on the region level; Edminster achieved state recognition, as well.