ACSA’s 13 councils represent the different job-alikes within school administration. These groups provide a broad range of viewpoints regarding public education in California. The job-specific councils, made up of practicing administrators from each ACSA region, bring together the best of two worlds- a united association and a unique representation for specific job types. Council members may be elected or appointed by region presidents. Each will elect its own council president and have a vote on the Legislative Policy Committee. Councils create their own bylaws that will be consistent with ACSA bylaws and ratified by the Board of Directors. The Region 8 2017-2018 members are noted below.  Councils include the following:

  • Adult Education – Elizabeth Ambra
  • Business Services – Marcus Battle
  • Career Technical Education – Jeff Schmidt
  • Classified Educational Leaders -Sylvia Alvarez
  • Co-Administrators – Yvonne Sugimura
  • Curriculum, Instruction & Accountability – Cheryl Jordan
  • Educational Options – Mary Ann Dewan
  • Elementary Education – Kimberley Attell
  • Human Resources – Michael Gallagher
  • Middle Grades Education – Sharon Ofek
  • Secondary Education – Tom Huynh
  • Student Services & Special Education – Rose DuMond
  • Superintendents – Carrie Andrews

In addition, ACSA’s committees and special groups are formed to address specific areas of interest to public school administrators or to address specific political issues, focusing their efforts on one identified purpose. Most committees are made up of representatives from each ACSA region and have a vote on the Legislative Policy Committee; others, including special groups, have different criteria for member selection. Committees and special groups include the following:

  • Equity, Achievement & Diversity for Success – Sheila Murphy-Brewer
  • Vice Presidents for Legislative Action – Anisha Munshi
  • Legislative Policy – George Sanchez
  • ACSA/CAPEA – Cliff Tyler
  • Member Services Committee – Jeff Bowman
  • Retirement – Sheila McGann-Tiedt   Retiree Bylaws
  • Small School Districts – Joel Ruiz Herrera
  • Urban Education – Open
  • Awards Committee – Alyssa Lynch
  • New & Young Administrators – Open
  • Women’s Leadership Network – Open

For those seeking appointment to a council, committee or special group, contact Region 8’s president.

  • Past Presidents

    Honoring those who have led our region, we thank.....

    16-17  Will Ector
    15-16  Lisa Andrew
    14-15  Tanya Krause
    13-14  Collette Zea
    12-13  Erik Burmeister
    11-12  Cheryl Jordan
    10-11  Glen Ishiwata
    09-10  Steve Hope
    08-09  Lisa Gonzales
    07-08  Bitsey Stark
    06-07  Joel Herrera
    05-06  Tony Garcia
    04-05  Mary M. Berkey
    03-04  Laurel Olsen
    02-03  Rhoda Wolfskehl
    01-02  Ana Lomas
    00-01  Jackie Horejs
    99-00  Herb Wadley
    98-99  Henry Castaniada
    97-98  George Manthey
    96-97  Jim McDonald
    95-96  Pat Souza
    94-95  Dennis Burns
    93-94  Charles Gary
    92-93  Lee Cunningham
    91-92  Tim Cuneo
    90-91  George Romero
    89-90  Nancy Montalvo
    88-89  Phil Barone