Administrator of the Year

Critical Region 5 Nomination Dates for 2014:

Administrator of the Year Awards: Completed Nomination Forms due January 13, 2014 to George Robinson (Region submits selected nominee to state ACSA by February 3, 2014)
Every Student Succeeding Award: Completed Nomination Forms due by March 10, 2014 to George Robinson (Region submits selected nominee to state ACSA by March 14, 2014)  
Region 5 Awards dinner: TBA

One of ACSA’s priorities is to ensure that school leaders are recognized for their excellence. Through our annual awards program we honor administrators and community members for their achievements and their dedication to public education.

Awards are given regionally and at a state level depending on the award category. The nomination process is an open process and usually involves the nominee as the primary source of information. The forms are available online, and can be completed and saved electronically. We urge you to participate by giving the materials some thought and taking action to nominate deserving colleagues.

Congratulations to the 2011 Region 5 Awardees!!! (click to view list)
Statewide recipients will be announced in March on the ACSA website and in EdCal, and recipients were honored at the Leadership Summit in Sacramento in November, 2014. The 2014 Leadership Summit will be in San Diego, November 6-8, 2014.

If you have questions, please contact George Robinson, or (650) 580-8482.

Visit state ACSA’s Awards Program page for complete information. Here you will also find frequently asked questions, tips for successful nominations, checklists, sample criteria explanations and other helpful resources.

The Administrator of the Year categories are as follows:

• Superintendent
• Secondary Principal
• Middle Grades Principal
• Elementary Principal
• Central Office Administrator (District/County)
• Elementary Co-Administrator
• Secondary Co-Administrator
• Classified Leader
• Confidential Employee
• Personnel/Human Resources Administrator
• Adult Education Administrator
• Career Technical Education Administrator
• Special Education Administrator
• Superintendent/Principal
• Business Services Administrator
• Pupil Personnel Administrator
• Curriculum and Instruction Administrator
• Continuation/Educational Options Administrator
• Professor of Education
• Retired Administrator (volunteer service to ACSA)
• Technology Administrator

There are also five special awards, three honored at a regional and state level, two at the state level only:

• Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award (state)
• Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence (state)
• Robert E. Kelly Award
• Partners in Educational Excellence Award – awarded to an organization or program, not an individual
• Valuing Diversity Award