

## Region VIII Santa Clara County 2011-2012

Cheryl Jordan President

Erik Burmeister President-Elect

Glen Ishiwata Past President

**Lisa Pruitt**VP, Legislative Action

**Joann Vaars** VP, Member Services

> **Tony Frascone** Chair, Programs

Colette Zea / Bob Lowry Co-Chairs, Awards

> **Steve Hope** State Board Director

**Lisa Gonzelas, Ed.D.** State Board VP Leg. Action

Joel Ruiz Herrera, Ed.D. Rep, Legislative Policy

> Tanya Krause Internal Affairs

Virginia Fahimi Secretary and OCHO Editor

> Shari Roth Treasurer

Will Ector
Anne McDermott
Socorro Shiels
Lety Villa-Gascon
Shelly Viramontez
Members-at-Large

Patricia Einfalt
Region VIII Executive Director

Cheryl Jordan, President

Assistant Superintendent, H. R. Milpitas Unified School District 1331 E. Calaveras Blvd. Milpitas, CA 95035 408-635-2600 x.6071 email: cjordan@musd.org

To: Region VIII Leaders

From: Bob Lowry and Colette Zea, Region VIII Co-Chairs of Awards

**Date: October 10, 2011** 

## 2012 ACSA Region VIII Awards Program

Believe it or not, it is that time of year to begin considering the individuals that your charter would like to nominate for Region VIII's awards for 2012. Each year, State and Regional ACSA charters honor some of their members for their fine contributions to the profession and to the lives of students. Many ACSA charters participate in this program, thereby being able to recognize their own members for their outstanding work. Last year, Region VIII had three of its recipients also receive the State ACSA award!

It is now time to prepare for the 2012 awards. We are certain you have a number of individuals in your charter who are deserving of these awards. However, there are award categories each year that do not receive nominations. You can make sure that one of your own has a chance to be recognized only if you or a member(s) of your charter take the time (about one hour) to complete a nomination form. Let's make Region VIII one of the regions with nominations in every category for this academic year!

Please take a moment to read the application and nomination descriptors. Share the information with the members of your charter through your charter meetings, newsletters, and personal contacts. Encourage your members to think of worthy candidates and to complete the nomination forms.

In addition to the twenty Administrator of the Year Award categories (including a new category this year: Retired Administrator), Region VIII seeks nominations for seven special awards:

- Robert E. Kelly Award
- Outstanding Media Coverage of Pubic Education
- Partners in Educational Excellence
- Valuing Diversity
- Ferd Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service
- Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence, sponsored by VALIC
- Every Student Succeeding.

All forms for this program are available at <a href="www.acsa.org/awards">www.acsa.org/awards</a> and <a href="http://regions.acsa.org/8/">http://regions.acsa.org/8/</a>. Make as many copies of the forms as you need. You will be notified the first week of February 2012 regarding the status of your nomination(s).

Plan ahead! Nominations for <u>all</u> awards (including Every Student Succeeding) are due to Colette Zea by **Monday**, **January 9**, **2012** by FAX, US mail, or Email. <u>The due date cannot be extended due to the State ACSA submission deadline date</u>.

Remember: All administrator nominees MUST be a State ACSA member.

Questions? Please contact Bob or Colette at:

 Bob Lowry:
 408-266-0739
 LRL4488@aol.com

 Colette Zea:
 408-874-2936
 czea@moreland.org

FAX or mail: Colette Zea, Moreland School District

4711 Campbell Avenue San Jose, CA 95130 FAX: 408-874-2931