Wishing all of our members good health and safety at a very difficult time. Your leadership is more important than ever, take care of yourself!



region 6

April 15, 2020

UPDATE on Region 6 Leadership Summit: Thriving on the Vine - June 11

Due to the unprecedented events of the current pandemic, Region 6 is cancelling the scheduled June 11 annual summit and Administrators of the Year Awards dinner. We will be rescheduling the Awards Dinner to the fall so we can celebrate the outstanding leaders in our region. We are also formulating an alternative to engaging our members in ongoing professional learning and networking. More information will come in the next few weeks.

Every Student Succeeding

The annual Awards Luncheon scheduled for April 21 had to be cancelled due the current directives, the following students were scheduled to be recognized for demonstrating tremendous resilience and courage in overcoming challenges in their life's journey to achieving success. Each student is awarded \$250 and a check will be mailed to them. They were nominated by the ACSA members listed. Congratulations to:

- Jaden Bautista, DeCoto School for Independent Study, New Haven USD (Grace Kim)
- Colton Buck, Altamont Creek Elementary, Livermore USD (Tara Aderman)
- Cindy Dolores, Crossroads HS, Mt. Diablo USD (Christina Filios)
- Zakiah Hollman, Pinole Valley HS, West Contra Costa USD (Kibby Kleiman)
- Cristopher Lizano, Holbrook Elementary, Mt. Diablo USD (Marga Marshall)
- Maria Lizarraga, Amador Valley HS, Pleasanton USD (Heather Pereira)
- Hahnl Lo, Foothill HS, Pleasanton USD (Heather Pereira)
- Elsa Pratt, Amador Valley HS, Pleasanton USD (Heather Pereira)
- Reimare Reyes, Donlon Elementary, Pleasanton USD (Janet Gates)
- Kevin Salguero, Del Valle HS, Livermore USD (Erik Taylor and Mistee Guzman)
- Jenessa Sifuentas, Arroyo HS, San Lorenzo USD (Renee Lama)
- Dastan Toledano, Donlon Elementary, Pleasanton USD (Janet Gates)

Region 6 winner Leilah Castle from Alhambra High School in Martinez USD is awarded a \$1000 scholarship. She was nominated by ACSA member Matt Chamberlain. As a region winner, Leilah will also be recognized at the annual ACSA State Conference in San Diego in November. At that time, she will receive another \$1000 from ACSA. ACSA is also filming a video about each region winner. Look for her story on the <u>ACSA website</u>

Bob Blackburn Student Scholarships

Region 6 was pleased to award seven \$1000 scholarships to children of ACSA members. Congratulations to these outstanding students:

- Emily Eaton, Heritage HS, Liberty UHSD (Dana Eaton)
- Ethan Giannini, San Ramon Valley HS, San Ramon USD (Bob Giannini)
- Samantha Grotke, Oakland Schools of the Arts (Garry Grotke)
- Andrew Nickerson, Monte Vista HS, San Ramon Valley USD (John Nickerson)
- Ryan Noriega, James Logan HS, New Haven USD (Tracie Noriega)
- Eva Smith, Northgate HS, Mt. Diablo USD (Mary Maddux)
- Annika Zamora, Castro Valley HS, Castro Valley USD (Raul Zamora)

Region 6 Mini-Grants

Congratulations to the following mini-grant winners! Each grant was awarded up to \$1,000.

- Lauren Kelly (Eden Area ROP) Students in State Competition
- Kibby Kleiman (West Contra Costa USD) Visual Arts Displays
- Nicholas McMaster (Castro Valley USD) Mariachi Program
- Allison Mulliken (San Ramon USD) Career Tech for Girls
- Ray Witte (Knightsen ESD) Wireless Projector

Region 6 Leadership 2020-2021

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Region 6 LeadershipTeam:

Executive Committee

- President Jacob Berg (Pleasanton USD)
- Past President Pam VandeKamp (Pleasanton USD)
- President-Elect Mark Neal (Newark USD)
- Vice President Staff Development Hilary Dito (Contra Costa COE)
- Vice President Programs Pam Hughes (Newark USD)
- Vice President Membership Renee Lama (San Lorenzo USD)
- Vice President Legislative Action James Parrish III (San Leandro USD)
- Secretary Christy Glaser (San Ramon USD)
- Treasurer Kathy LaCome (San Lorenzo USD)
- Comptroller Annette Heldman (New Haven USD)
- State Board of Directors Parvin Ahmadi (Castro Valley USD)
- Representative At-Large, Alameda County Raul Zamora (Fremont USD)
- Representative At-Large, Contra Costa County Jon Campopiano (San Ramon USD)
- Representative At-Large, Contra Costa County Chris Calabrese (Brentwood UESD)
- Representative At-Large, Contra Costa County Cheryl Cotton (Contra Costa COE)
- Equity Chair Tracie Noriega (New Haven USD)
- Communication Chair Marcus Walton (West Contra Costa USD)

Region 6 Representatives to ACSA State Councils and Committees:

- Adult Education Jeff Carr (West Contra Costa USD)
- Business Services Committee Alan Garde (Hayward USD)
- Career Technical Education Amy Robbins (Tri-Valley ROP)
- Classified Educational Leaders Nicole Joyner (West Contra Costa USD)
- Co-Administrators Roxana Mohammed (Livermore Valley JUSD)
- Educational Options Erik Bear Taylor (Livermore Valley JUSD)
- Curriculum, Instruction and Accountability Jennifer Sachs (Mt. Diablo USD)
- Equity Tracie Noriega (New Haven USD)
- Elementary Education David Thornley (Fremont USD)
- Human Resources Aileen Parsons (San Ramon USD)
- Legislative Policy Raul Zamora (Fremont USD)

- Middle Grades Education Mistee Guzman (Livermore Valley JUSD)
- Retirees Gail Yothers
- Student Services/Special Ed Kirsten Zazo (Alameda USD)
- Small School District Harvey Yurkovich (Knightsen SD)
- Secondary Education Matt Chamberlain (Martinez USD)
- Superintendency Matt Wayne (Hayward SD)
- ACSA/CAPEA Michael Cubacub (San Leandro USD)
- Leadership Assembly Pam VandeKamp (Pleasanton USD)
- Leadership Assembly Lorianne Ventura (Dublin USD)



Contact Us

We welcome your feedback and suggestions.

ACSA website
Region 6 website

Region 6 Staff
Rose Lock, Executive
Steve Collins, Consultant

Region 6 Leadership

President: Pam VandeKamp President-Elect: Jacob Berg

Past President: Sonja Neely-Johnson VP Staff Development: Hilary Dito VP Programs: Pam Hughes

VP Legislative Action: James Parrish III VP Membership: Kris Martin-Meyer

Secretary: Christy Glaser Treasurer: Kathy LaCome Comptroller: Lorianne Ventura Equity Chair: Tracie Noriega

Communication Chair: Marcus Walton ACSA Board Director: Parvin Ahmadi

At-Large Representatives: Jon Campopiano, Raul

Zamora, Chris Calabrese, Cheryl Cotton

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." - Nelson Mandela