Spring Celebration “Administrator Awards” Dinner Held on April 11, 2019

Region 12’s annual Spring Celebration feted 27 administrators, programs or students in 2019 in front of a standout crowd of 320 attendees. Our social hour entertainment was by the barbershop quartet group “The Dudes of Four Tune” and our formal student performance was by the Rancho Cucamonga High School Chamber Singers under the direction of Ms. Kelly Squires.
Click here to see the full evening’s program including lists of all recipients and their awards: program final SC 2019
A very special award was bestowed upon Mr. James “Jim” Marinis, the Region 12-only Wilson Grace award. Mr. Marinis retired from all things ACSA after 48 years of service, beginning his involvement in ACSA at the charter, region and state levels upon its inception in 1971. Mr. Marinis is a retired principal from San Bernardino City USD. 
 See sample pics below!  To see ALL pictures taken, including individuals receiving awards on-stage, cut and paste this link into your browser:



Here is the text of Mr. Marinis’ speech to the audience upon receiving the Wilson Grace Award:                                                                                                   How many of you know who Wilson Grace was? Wilson was an elementary principal in the San Bernardino City Unified School District. ACSA was formed in 1971 by joining 7 (separate) school administrative committees. (At my age, I don’t remember the names of all 7) Wilson was the last president of CESA (California Elementary School Administrators). one of the 7 associations at that time. At that time, the founders of ACSA decided that the top three administrative committees – (Superintendents, High School Principals and Elementary School Principals) would hold the officer of the first three state ACSA Presidents. Wilson was the last CESA President, and he automatically became the third ACSA State President. After his tenure, the Presidents ran on a state-wide ballot. So now you all know who Wilson Grace was and I am sincerely proud and honored to receive this award that was named for him.



Most of the recipients are gathered on-stage at the conclusion of the ceremonies for a group picture.
The Dudes of Four Tune belt out harmonies as they rove around the ballroom.
Guests register and receive their seating assignments in the foyer.
County Supt. of Schools Mr. Ted Alejandre visits with attendees during the social hour.
The Rancho Cucamonga H.S. Chamber Singers assemble for their first number.
Region President Sandra Rodriguez greets the audience.
Past Region President Dr. Cindie Medeiros, officially in charge of the evening, assists Mr. Alejandre in recognizing each recipient in turn.
County Superintendent Alejandre makes comments concluding the evening.